Home > Other shit > Diddley Bows!

Diddley Bows!

May 17, 2010

Ok, so it’s not ukuleles but is certainly in the spirit of ukuleles and follows on from the cigar box ukuleles I made a while back.   My brother and I made bass diddley bows on Saturday, on Sunday we wrote and recorded a diddley bow song about diddley bows and here it is!

Categories: Other shit Tags: ,
  1. John
    July 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Glad you like it! I have a baritone that really doesn’t get played enough… about the only time that I play it is when I have a song in c that I want to play in g so that I can sing it better and too lazy to figure out the new chords. Will check your sites out, might start picking the baritone up a little more often!

  2. July 28, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Hey Ukearist. I was perusing Ukulele Hunt and clicked on your name. You have some terrific stuff and like me you allow yourself to go astray. Yeah! Diddley Bows. Hey I gotta make sure I have a link to you. I have also been doing a blog for Baritone ukulele called Humble Baritonics which has been fun but it is more of a challenge to find great stuff because there are fewer players. Thanks, Jeff

  3. zoe
    June 29, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    hey john
    not sure if i’ve pointed this out to you before – for anyone who is interested in making their own musical instruments – they have a good photo section
    http://handmademusic.ning.com/

    also on the subject of diddley bows

    sorry I’ve not beeen able to make it to the ukearist lately, I’m all work and no money at the moment – the only thing I brought back from cheltenham was stickers,

  4. John
    June 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Handmade music is a helpful site very similar to cigar box nation, also a really helpful site. It’s a cool video that, diddley bows are wonderfully simple instruments! Are you going to make one?

  5. chris
    June 3, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    Genius!! Rock on guys, I wanna diddley bow!!

  6. zoe
    June 1, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    supercool!

    left and right handed playing brothers too, very….er….symertical

    excellent – don’t stop

  7. John
    May 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I might just do that!

  8. david
    May 18, 2010 at 11:07 am

    brilliant! You might be in with a chance in the recycled instrument competition and maybe do a performance too –

    http://www.loanheadfest.webeden.co.uk/#/competitions/4536606773

  9. John
    May 17, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    permission granted!

  10. edinuker
    May 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Would it be possible to use the word “cute” without it being offensive??

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
