Home > Other shit > Cigar Box Ukulele #2

Cigar Box Ukulele #2

April 6, 2010

I completed cigar box ukulele number 2 last week, thought you might like to see a little video of it:

Categories: Other shit
  1. John
    June 7, 2010 at 7:33 am

    Mark – the neck came from Thomann as part of a ukulele kit: http://www.thomann.de/gb/hosco_ukulele_kit.htm?sid=8c8f96b7dad9b5ca1fa099f3482b76c5 I just gave the body away and used the neck and fretboard.

  2. June 6, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    What’s the neck? Where did you get it? Can you mail me one if I transfer some funds?

  3. zoe
    April 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    it’s a macadamia coloured concert, I was going to get a flea originally but I had 3 sopranos and a tenor so I went for the fluke instead

  4. John
    April 16, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Well, whatever you do and however you do it, it sounds damned fine!

  5. April 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    John, I’m thinking that I’m not the guy for strumming tips. I have a ukulele student and have found that I don’t really *know* what I’m doing in that department, at least not well enough to clearly explain to others.

    Best thing I can tell you is that it happens at both ends of the neck. Much of my strumming sound comes from muting and “chunking” a lot. Also I don’t know many “strumming patterns,” I just try to play whatever rhythm sounds best behind what I’m singing.

  6. John
    April 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Hey Zoe, be good to see you again – we’ve been missing you! Our cat will just try and find any available opportunity to jump on your lap, she doesn’t miss a trick! Will look forward to seeing the fluke, did you get a concert or tenor? I thought about getting one a while back but never did. Catch you soon!

  7. zoe
    April 16, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    hey john, good job on the new uke, I have got myself a cigar box but that’s it so far, Love the cat btw – she seems pretty quick for 3 legs, My cat seems to hear the ukulele and thinks it’s a sign for me to pet her(always in the way). It was my birthday last week and I got a Fluke for it, it’s brilliant I’ll bring it along to the next night, not been able to get over lately because of work, hope to see you all soon

  8. John
    April 6, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    A strange co-incidence there that as that comment came in I was watching your Honeysuckle Rose video! Which was great by the way! I need to pick up some strumming tips from you!

  9. April 6, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Very nice! I’ve been plotting a cigar box uke for some time. Got a neck but no box yet as I want one big enough to do something like Joel Eckhaus’s “Hootchulele” and haven’t found it yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
