Home > Song Writing > Songwriting Group

Songwriting Group

February 3, 2010

After the impromptu song writing at last Monday’s Ukearist we thought we might try and set up a song writing group to meet up at a separate time from the regular fortnightly Monday evenings with a view to forming one or more groups to get something together for song writing competitions later this year.

It would be good to try and arrange something fairly soon.  Please let us know in the comments below if you would like to get involved with and devote extra time to this.

Categories: Song Writing
  1. Yvonne
    February 8, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    really sorry folks, wanted to make it along tonight but my daughter cracked her knee on the stairs and we ended up in A & E for most of this evening..!! hope it was a good night and will hopefully make it along to the next one.

  2. david
    February 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Hi Chris, I think general view was that only some folks were keen on this and it would take too much time out of the regular Ukearist. No intention to remove songwriting from the main forum just some pretty fluid ideas and a lot of enthusiasm that seems to need a separate time and space to get started. From my perspective it could take a good bit of time to write and then develop any songs to a point where we were happy to perform them in a competition. I would hope we are aiming for June so that’s only eight or nine regular Ukearists from now. A lot of the real work probably gets done by individuals or small groups with, hopefully, broader support from the whole Ukearist. Well that’s only my view and, apart from last week’s workshops, I’ve not had a chance to exchange ideas about this process with others.

  3. chris
    February 8, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Hi all, if the song writing is done outwith the ‘usual’ Ukearist, does that mean that there won’t be any done during Ukearist?

    I’m working long days/evenings for the next few weeks as we approach the busy spring period so unfortunately can’t commit to anything apart from the fortnightly standard Ukearist.

    See you Monday week

  4. David
    February 7, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Meeting arranged for Monday night, 8th Feb 7:30.

    I’ve managed to get the back room of The Bowlers Rest. Meeting in there from 7:30 until 10 ish. Bowlers Rest is at 25 Mitchell Street. Situated on the corner of Elbe Street and Mitchell Street. Go straight through to the back room.

    Bowlers Rest is two minutes walk from Mackenzie School. If you were coming out the school you would turn left and go straight over the junction onto Mitchell Street. The pub, also sometimes known as Mitchel’s Bar, is just a wee bit down the road on the left hand side.

    Bring ukes, paper, pens and any portable recording equipment if you have such.

    See you there.

    David

  5. Jim
    February 7, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    OK for me on Monday – how about 7.30? I’m available whichever venue. Will also email you.

  6. John
    February 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    That’s great for me Dave, just let me know which venue it is and I’ll be there! What time are we saying? I will email you too so that you have my email address.

  7. David
    February 7, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Hi again. Tomorrow is Monday so we need to quickly arrange a venue. I’m in leith so would take my chances and go to sophis bar or bowlers rest but also ok about going to other side of town if that suits more people. Is it easier to sort this by email? Don’t want to risk spamming by putting straight email address in this message but it is, foggo and then the at symbol and then blueyonder dot co dot uk . If you email me we can try and quickly sort something out. If tomorrow is to short notice then we can try for Tuesday. May be able to get separate room in Bowlers Rest which is the pub just down the road from the school. That would give access to the bar but would also give us peace and quiet. I tried to phone the owner but he won’t be in until 10:30 pm. I’ll phone again later to see if he’s ok with this. Let me know what you think either by email or i’ll check back here later tonight and tomorrow.

  8. Yvonne
    February 6, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    I like the idea too and am up for it. Also happy to host the first one if you need a venue till we work out venues or which pub is good. I’m on the other side of town so that may not work for all?, but happy to be a back up.
    check out these sites for a little bit of inspiration/ideas
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio2/soldonsong/guide/
    carryapoem.com
    http://www.burnsong.org/
    http://www.spl.org.uk/

  9. zoe
    February 6, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I’m liking the sound of this, like Jim I have enthusiasm and no experience, but I did try writing a song on the bus on the way home last monday 🙂 I like the idea of this happening in a pub – playing ukulele is thirsty work after all. I’m not sure if I can make this monday but keep us posted on the site with what is happening.

    later ukers

  10. February 6, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Monday is fine for me.

  11. Jim
    February 5, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Monday is OK for me as is any of the venues. Has anyone spoken to Chris as I think he may be keen on this?

  12. John
    February 5, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    This Monday is good for me and I’m happy with any of the suggestions there, so I’ll just go along with whatever is easiest for folk.

  13. david
    February 5, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I think that is four of us so far, Jim, Jane, John and me. I would be happy to do something this coming Monday, 8th Feb. Question is where are we going as I’m not sure that we can just assume that we can use Chris’s hospitality. Back room of sophis, back room (loung bar) of Bowler’s Rest which is just down the road from Mackenzie School, my house or somewhere else? Any thoughts?

  14. February 5, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I’m up for it too.

  15. Jim
    February 4, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I’m definitely all for this – what about the in between Monday nights? All I can offer is enthusiasm, don’t have any experience!

  16. david
    February 3, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    thanks John – I could only add my comment to a previous one 🙂

    I think that final hour on Monday night was great fun.

    My own songwriting kit consists of pen, paper, musical instrument and a personal mp3 player with a recording function. I quite often just play guitar or, these days, uke to create chord sequences or fragments as one of my guitar playing friends called them. A fragment might also have some sung lyrics or a hummed melody. For myself the music usually comes before the lyrics. If something that might be worth remembering or developing comes up then I’ll record it. I find that if I don’t do this a fragment can be easily lost and never to return. That’s my basic method but I don’t think there are any hard and fast rules.

    It would be great to get a songwriting group on the go. The two competitions that I thought we could aim for are Loanhead Music Festival and Edinburgh Folk Club. If you google these you should be able to find links to their songwriting pages.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
