Home > Video > Cigar Box Ukulele

Cigar Box Ukulele

January 7, 2010

I made a cigar box ukulele of Christmas and, surprisingly, it turned out rather well!  Here’s a short video of it in action:

Categories: Video
  1. zoe
    January 11, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    have you watched this weeks top gear (episode7 I think) Sea sick steve is the star in a reasonably priced car he brings in his guitar that is made from morris minor hubcaps. It’s about 30mins into the show

  2. chrisukepher
    January 11, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Hi John, this is great – it sounds really nice and looks kinda cool too. I might have to jump on the ‘cigar box ukulele band wagon’ at some point. I wonder what other things we could make Ukuleles out of? hmmm…..

  3. Jim
    January 10, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Sounds great John – if you could make another 500,000 we can start selling them at the end of January!!!! Happy ukeyear.

  4. John
    January 7, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I used the entire neck and fretboard from a mahalo, just chopped it off and tidied up the surfaces. The neck is glued on, I had originally tried to bolt and then screw it on but the poor quality of the mahalo neck meant they both just pulled out. Seems to be holding just fine glued up though. I’m amazed at how nice it sounds, I really expected it to sound a pretty rubbish, I was pleasantly surprised!

    I have some photos from the build that I’ll post up. It wasn’t generally too tricky, just requires quite a bit of care and attention. Probably took me just over a day from start to finish.

  5. zoe
    January 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    John that looks and sounds great, I’m jealous, a cigar box uke is on my list of things to do this year. Did you get the fretboard seperate or did you take it from another uke? Have you seen this site http://handmademusic.ning.com/photo it’s got some interesting instuments on it.

    well done, have fun

    zoe

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
