Home > Gig > BUSKING CONFIRMED!

BUSKING CONFIRMED!

December 9, 2009

John and I have decided on a date for Christmas busking…… We are taking the bull by the proverbial horns and calling all fellow Uke-buskers to join us next Monday evening, the 14th of December. We’re going to meet at the usual Ukearist venue of 6 John’s Place for a wee practice before heading up town to the German market at the mound. We’ll then busk around the area and just see how it goes.

It would be good if you could try to get to 6 John’s Place as early as possible, like between 6pm – 6.30pm. If you can’t make the practice but still want to busk with us, no problem, you can meet us there. We’ll probably try to get to the mound for around 7.30pm or so. It won’t be hard to spot us, that’s for sure!

The idea is to do some Christmas songs as well as some of our ‘favourites’. Here’s the suggested songlist for you to familiarise yourself with before we meet, all of which can be found in the Taunton Strummers Club Ukulele Xmas Songbook (PDF)

Rocking around the xmas tree
Rudolph the red nose reindeer
Santa Claus is coming to town
We wish you a merry xmas
Merry Xmas Everybody (slade)
Merry Xmas Everyone (shakin stevens)
Frosty the Snowman
I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas
Jingle Bells
Last Christmas

Check out this playlist on spotify which features all of these songs for you to listen to in case you’ve not heard them before.

Santa hats, full costumes, anything Christmassy (sure that’s not a word!) welcome!

I have a music stand and it’s quite a sturdy one so i’ll bring that. I also have a headlamp that will help us to see the song sheets… Depending on how many people are interested, we might need more music stands so if you have one, please bring it along.

Now, the most important thing of all – in order for this to be possible, we will be relying on decent weather. Decent weather to me means no hurricanes, rain/sleet/snow. If any of these elements are showing face on the day, we might have to call the busking off but that doesn’t mean we still can’t meet at the school and busk to ourselves! I’m sure Sofi’s would welcome some Christmas cheer too….

Gee, what a long posting. So whaddya think folks?

Over and out!

Chris 🙂

Categories: Gig
  1. Chris
    December 14, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Hi all, I sent a post over here on Saturday from my Blackberry but see thatit hasn’t gone on for some reason. It was just to say that i’m pleased that it looks like there will be a wee crowd of us getting together tonight and to say that I was looking forward to it.

    All we need now is for this rain to disappear!

    Se you later in any case.

    Chris

  2. Jim
    December 11, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Me too !!! I’ll bring a stand. Also, how about a monster torch – mouth held. Just kidding, mouth too small. ( no comments required}

  3. Andy
    December 11, 2009 at 10:15 am

    This sounds great! I’m in too…despite not playing since our last performance in Troon! I’ll get strumming.

  4. John
    December 10, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I’ve just added a link in the main post to a playlist on spotify that I created with all of these songs so that you can familiarise yourself with them. http://open.spotify.com/user/jhob/playlist/3ym9g1VbAKizljmpDwtI5n

  5. zoe
    December 10, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    I’m going to try and make it along, if work cools off a bit, I’m printing out the songs now.
    hopefully see yous there

  6. chrisukepher
    December 10, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Good stuff Jane, glad to hear you’ll be joining us 🙂

  7. December 10, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I’m there too! I can bring a music stand and some lights.

    Jane

  8. December 9, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Yeah! I’m there! Gonna busk till my face turns blue and my fingers drop off, at which point I will pick them up off the floor and eat them for nourishment. I’ll be able to buy fingerless gloves, sew up the ends and use them as real gloves then – it’s always been a dream of mine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
