Home > inspiration > Uke players – favourite or obscure?

Uke players – favourite or obscure?

November 6, 2009

A vote for Fozzie!Who’s your favourite uke player?

The more obscure, the better.

The most impressive I’ve found has got to be Jake Shimabukuru.

The video of him in Central Park is now a legend.

I’m not much into heavy metal uke, but his “Play Loud Ukulele” DVD (US standard) shows him strutting his stuff. The best part of that DVD – for me – is the interview clips and teaching stuff as part of the extra gubbins.

Of course, now that the 40th anniversary celebrations for Sesame Street are in full swing, many thoughts are filled with all things muppet.

Although not a resident of the Street, Fozzie Bear has had my top muppet vote for quite a while.

How delighted was I to learn that he is also a ukulele player? (Pretty darned delighted, to be sure!)

If his uke playing is as good as his comedic skills, well, Jake has nothing to worry about. (OK, even if his uke playing is better than his comedy, he’d still be miles behind Jake.)

So, who gets your vote for best – or most obscure – uke player?

Categories: inspiration
  1. chris moonie
    November 17, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I really like the stuff that Danielle does……….. but ‘who is Danielle?’ – I hear you shout!

    Danielle’s Magic – ‘Danielle Ate The Sandwich’

    http://www.youtube.com/user/daniellesmagic

    I discovered her on youtube and think she’s really talented. I love her voice and she’s pretty funny too. She plays Ukuleles in standard c tuning but also baritone ukes too….and guitar….and I think even the piano sometimes.She writes her own songs and does covers as well.

    If she ever comes to the UK I would go to see her….

  2. John
    November 11, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    If you click on the names of the artists/bands in my comment above they’re links through to the myspace/youtube sites of each one

  3. edinuker
    November 11, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Phew!!

    Thanks for the suggestions. Most definitely going to check those out when I get a chance. Not heard of most of them, so it’ll be a bit of an adventure.

  4. November 11, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Musically I’d say that the Bobby McGhees are pretty special, definitely one of my favourite ukulele artists.

    Gugug definitely do the best uke covers, they’re so much fun!

    Ken Middleton is amazingly versatile and also really great to learn from. His output is extremely prolofic.

    Jake Wildwood is also worth checking out, he’s a multi-instrumentalist and has some really haunting songs.

    Winin Boy has some amazing rag-time strumming going, he’s got some amazing rhythms.

    Also got to give a shout to Little Robots, former ukearist uker Laura’s band.

    There’s so much great uke stuff around on the net at the moment, it can be quite over-whelming!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
