Home > Uncategorized > First gig!

First gig!

June 7, 2009

Ukearists- we have our first gig! My mate Jeff organises a beach ultimate (frisbee) tournament in Troon, west of Glasgow and he’s asked us to play at the party! The tournament is August 15/16.  We’ll probably have an hour (or so) slot on the Saturday night to warm up the party crowd. That’s a fair while, but I reckon we can do it- interspersed with a few solo spots etc.

This is also a great chance to get some of the frisbee ukers (Andy, Fran, Jamie- I’m lookin’ at you…) strutting their ukestuff.

There will most likely be the opportunity to camp over, but we’ll get the details sorted as the date approaches. I promise, it’ll be ace fun and a good party 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Laura
    June 13, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    Sounds great!

  2. Shane
    June 11, 2009 at 9:40 am

    @Margaret:

    I’ve had a request for the Hawaii Five-0 theme at least, but otherwise no particular ‘frisbee’ music…. well, there are a couple of tunes, but nothing immediately jumps to mind. I’ll send you a link via facebook to a shared document that you can add suggestions to. S.

  3. Margaret
    June 11, 2009 at 9:17 am

    What sort of music do the Frisboids listen to?

    If we could cater to their tastes for at least a few of the tunes, that would make it an even better gig!!

    (With a well-pleased crowd, the Ukearistics might even get a few fans …)

    Re partners: We do need Roadies, right?

    (Or do you actually expect us to carry our own ukes???)

    Tee hee

    Song thoughts to you in person ….

  4. Shane
    June 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    I have a few more to add to that list John! Plus a bunch of potential tunes and possibles as well. I’ll eventually upload a list so that people can see the songs and links to the relevant songsheets etc for the possible tunes for people to take a look at. Should have that done by early next week.
    I suggest also that we try to organise a couple of extra practises (possibly on the alternate Mondays- I’ll check with Chris etc- and/or weekends). I’m not going to help much by being away July 3-24, but it’ll all work out 🙂 I like this can do attitude! On ya Andy 🙂
    Margaret, I’ll check out about partners.
    I’m amped about this by the way!

  5. Andy
    June 10, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I better get practicing and playing! eek…

  6. John
    June 10, 2009 at 8:53 am

    I’m definitely up for this! Shane – you should construct yourself a frisbeelele especially for the occasion!

    Right, so what songs we gonna play? Off the top of my head I’m thinking:
    * Folsom Prison Blues
    * Like a Prayer
    * Hit Me Baby
    * King of the Swingers
    * Cheatin’ Heart
    * YMCA
    * Another Brick in the Wall
    * You Are My Sunshine
    * In The Summertime

    Any of you have other suggestions add them as a comment.

  7. Margaret
    June 9, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Look forward to the details!! Can we invite friends along or is there only room enough for uke players. (What if we give our partners ukes to hold. Does air ukulele count?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
