Home > Uncategorized > Theme nights (costumes optional)

Theme nights (costumes optional)

March 30, 2009

I was thinking it’d be cool to have some sort of theme night every now and then, for a bit of (extra) cohesion. For example an artist (I’m especially keen on Bowie, Rolling Stones and Radiohead nights myself!) or a year perhaps or even a song/song title theme- e.g. songs about, hmm, I dunno, the weather or some other more exotic topic. This could be a cool way of getting people to bring along song suggestions and just add an extra flavour to the occasional ukearist. Not that we’re not already over-flowing with flavour and fun of course! Who’s with me and what would you suggest…?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. jim
    April 13, 2009 at 9:34 am

    What about taking something well known, like Little Brown Jug or Loch Lomond and see if we can put a ukearist stamp on it. Lots of good suggestions.
    Jim

  2. James
    April 6, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    War Movies. I am sure i will come up with some classic Nam tunes. I mean the Uke has got to be the soldiers musical weapon of choice. FIRE IN THE HOLE!!!! Seargeeeeeeeeeeeeeee -nooooooooooooo

  3. Laura
    April 1, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Had a great time last Monday!
    I back Leonard Cohen and folk. I’d also like to suggest sea shanty’s.
    See you next time!
    Laura

  4. John
    April 1, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    If it’s Cohen and ukuleles that you’re after look no further than Ken Middleton’s brilliant youtube: http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=KenMiddletonUkulele&view=videos&query=cohen

    Great suggestions!

  5. Ben
    April 1, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    We all know that the music of Leonard Cohen is crying out for some ukulele attention. I also second cheesy pop hits, and folk

  6. John
    March 30, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    TV themes! I want to play Jim’ll Fix It!

  7. John
    March 30, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Great plan! Here’s a few off the top of my head:
    60s, 70s, 80s, Beatles, Cheesy pop chart hits (I can see Hero by Enrique Inglesias working well!), Childrens songs (Puff the magic dragon?), heavy rock, folk….

    The list is endless! You can definitely count me in as game for this.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
