Home > Uncategorized > The first ukearist get-together

The first ukearist get-together

January 20, 2009

Well I think we can say that the very first Edinburgh Ukearist gathering was a qualified success!  We had a fantastic turn-out with a total of 13 jolly ukers and a good mix between beginners and more experienced players.  We started out with a bit of tuition for the beginners and soon had them rolling with their first few chords and we went straight into the Beatles’ ‘Get Back’.  In just 45 minutes absolute beginners were able to play a popular Beatles song on the uke – amazing!  We had some Pringles too (thanks James!), I think that helped.

After that the more experienced ukers paired up with the beginners for a bit of one to one tuition and then we all got back together and bashed through these songs together:

  • You are My Sunshine
  • Sloop John B
  • In the Summertime
  • 500 miles
  • Blowin in the wind
  • Like a prayer

They were chosen as the chords are simple with each song adding just one new chord to those that had already been taught.

I think it was the first time that most of us had played ukes together in a large group before, I found it to be really enjoyable and it was pleasing to hear that we sounded tighter and more coherent towards the end of the evening.

After that all that was left to do was pop down Sofi’s in Leith for pint!  It’s a lovely little bar, I can see it becoming a regular post-Ukearist watering hole.

Thanks to Chris for providing such a great venue and to Shane for his help with the organisation and not forgetting Debs, Margaret, James, Michelle, Steven, Alastair, Anja, Kate, Andy and Katrina for coming along and making the night such fun!

Roll on 2nd February and Ukearist part 2….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Chris
    February 2, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Indeed roll on 7pm for our second Monday Ukearist. I was in manchester at the weekend and just got back this afternoon. When I awoke to the chaos brought on by the snow, my first thought was ‘oh sh*t, I hope I get home in time for Ukearist tonight’……….thankfully I did. See ya’ll later on 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
