Home > Ukearist stuff > Next meeting – 9th September

Next meeting – 9th September

August 29, 2013

It’s been a while since we had a themed night. The topic for the next meeting is Days Of The Week. Here are some ideas to get started:

I DON’T LIKE MONDAYS – Boomtown Rats.  Forgotten the finer points? Check out the original. Richard G’s words and uke chords here.

BLUE MONDAY – Fats Domino. Here’s how it goes. Richard G has sadly failed us on this one. I found the words and chords courtesy of Chordie. I’ll do one that will fit on one page rather than print this one out.

RUBY TUESDAY – Rolling Stones. YouTube original including the lyrics is here. And Richard G has words and chords. The ever-impressive Ken Middleton does a particularly good uke version.

TUESDAY MORNING – Pogues. I heard this for the first time just now and it’s already stuck in my head. Listen to it with lyrics here. Chordie has a useless version of the words and chords. I’ll do a more better proper one and perhaps we can see what can be made of it. Maybe somebody already knows it.

Wednesday… all right, I admit I’m a bit stuck for Wednesday. There are songs, of course, none of which I know except for Wednesday In Your Garden (Guess Who) and Wednesday Morning 3 a.m. by Simon and Garfunkel, which doesn’t actually mention Wednesday at all. Does it matter? Probably not. I’ll stop havering and leave Wednesday open to suggestion…

… ditto Thursday and Friday…

ALMOST SATURDAY NIGHT – John Fogerty. I’m more familiar with the Dave Edmunds version.  Here is Fogerty and here are the lyrics and chords at Chordie.

SATURDAY NIGHT AT THE MOVIES – Drifters. Check out the original with the lyrics. There are various versions of the chords and lyrics, one of which can be found here.

SUNDAY GIRL – Blondie. Original with lyrics here and the chords are at Chordie.

SUNDAY’S BEST – Elvis Costello. From the excellent 1979 album Armed Forces. Listen to the song on YouTube and get the words and chords from Chordie.

Some more possibilities:

Monday morning – Fleetwood Mac

Drive in Saturday (David Bowie)

Lazy Sunday (Small Faces)

Friday (J J Cale). Only one chord.

I have printed or will print:

I Don’t Like Mondays

Blue Monday

Ruby Tuesday

Tuesday morning

Friday

Sunday Girl

Don’t forget to add and/or bring along your own suggestions!

Categories: Ukearist stuff
  1. peterstrums2
    August 29, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Good idea for theme, tho of the six you have selected so far Jane…. I only know one and have a vague idea of one other;

    other things which come to mind:

    FRIDAY I’M IN LOVE from The Cure – I think that is in the folders already?
    FRIDAY ON MY MIND from The Easybeats; tho when Alan and I tried this a couple of months ago it reduced those not singing to abject hysterics, and I’m not sure I’ve recovered yet. But the dots exist.
    PLEASANT VALLEY SUNDAY from the Monkees. Courtesy of Carole King and Gerry Goffin. Great guitar riff from Mister Nesmith and the opportunity to play probably every major chord you can think of, and it’s one of Harry’s favourites.
    MONDAY MONDAY. Mamas and Papas. If it’s anything like the other ones of their’s we’ve tried it’s probably good for expanding ones vocal range
    ONE MORE SATURDAY NIGHT Grateful Dead. My roots music
    SATURDAY NIGHT’S ALRIGHT FOR FIGHTING. Elton John

    still no luck with Thursday, but the Beatles ‘SHE”S LEAVING HOME’ would do for Wednesday……morning at 5 o’clock as the day begins…
    And while on the Beatles, how about EIGHT DAYS A WEEK?

    Mantramusic. I hadn’t heard JJCale’s FRIDAY before, but it’s great, and just one chord (actually more like one note). Excellent

    p

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

